BeQui 101

All you ever wanted to know, and more

Big Changes May 9, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — bequirox @ 11:44 pm

Well, we’ve had several big changes lately. Maybe changes is the wrong word. Big events is probably more accurate.

The first week of April, we went out to California. The night of the first, we drove to Vegas. we stayed at the Circus Circus. It was SO LAME. They close the pool at 6 p.m. and don’t open it again til 10 a.m.! All the rides and stuff were shut down by the time we got there at 8 p.m. We were hoping to take the girls on some rides. Next time we’ll just pick a cheap hotel and sleep and then continue on our trip. Their air conditioning was also pretty crummy. It would turn on for about 2 minutes and then shut off for 13. So the room never actually got to a comfortable temperature, and the noise woke me up several times.

The 2nd, we finished driving out to Murrieta and then stayed with Anthony’s family for the rest of our trip. On the 3rd, we went to Disneyland. Lexy took us, and she used a wheelchair because of a sore foot. It’s $15 to rent a wheelchair, and I recommend doing it. You get through the lines a lot faster! Does that make me a jerk? Oh well. The girls were funny this trip because Sarah was scared of all the rides she loved last time. Andrea LOVES to be scared. So on Pirates of the Caribbean, Sarah got really upset during the drops but Andrea loved it. We rode the train around the park again, and another passenger stopped me to tell me how beautiful and astonishing both of the girls’ eyes are. Proud mama!

On the 4th, Anthony got sealed to his Chidester family in the San Diego Temple. It was a super spiritual experience, and I’m so glad I was able to be there to experience it. Sarah was worried that when he got sealed, he would have to go live with them. She was relieved when I clarified that. (She also doesn’t want me to be a grandma, because she doesn’t want me to move out. She made me promise that when she gets married, she can still live here.)

I don’t remember what we did on the 5th. The 6th, we started our drive home. We stayed at a hotel in Saint George. It was also a disappointment, because the pool was FREEZING. This air conditioner was better, because it stayed on, but it was impossible to get it to a comfortable temperature. It was either so cold that I had to turn it down, or so hot that I had to turn it up. The continental breakfast was stale cereal and Tang.

It was a relief to get home on the 7th! Andrea has SUCH a hard time sleeping outside her bed and not getting normal naps. We all slept in 1 room every night, and she had nightmares EVERY NIGHT.

Then on the 25th, Anthony and I flew out to Santa Barbara for his best friend, Ammaron’s, wedding. Ammaron and Allison got married on the 27th. It was really sweet and beautiful. We spent most of our time missing the girls. (It wasn’t feasible to buy them plane tickets.) A&A were so generous and let us use a car and stay at their house, so it was a very inexpensive trip. Santa Barbara was so beautiful. We went out to Fisherman’s Wharf and ate ice cream and bought the girls souvenirs (little purses with stuffed horses inside), we went downtown and watched Oblivion (AWESOME!), we walked around a bit and ate breakfast. It was still a little too cold to enjoy much time outside, but everything was GORGEOUS. We also met a lot of A&A’s other friends. I discovered that A&A are GREAT at picking friends! Everyone was so nice and fun and hilarious. I was invited to Allison’s bachelorette party and it was a blast. We ate sausages and played the Family Fun Game.

Family Fun Game is where someone picks a topic, then everyone writes clues or related sentences or something about the topic on individual slips of paper. There are 3 rounds to the game, and you play in teams with 1 minute per person/turn. Round one is you describe as many slips as you can without saying any of the words on the slip. The second round is charades for the same slips. The third round is describing the slips using 1 word. It was so fun, and is harder than it sounds, especially if you get a lot of slips you have to keep straight for the later rounds. The team with the most slips at the end wins.

We flew back the 28th and got home at about 11:00. I was so excited to see the girls the next morning, I woke up at 7:00 and couldn’t get back to sleep. They had stayed with Julie while we were gone. It was cute how excited they were to see us! Sarah named her souvenir horse Spirit, and Andrea named her’s Mommy.

May 3rd, Anthony graduated from the U with his Bachelor’s Degree in Speech Communication. He has been accepted into the Master’s Program at the U, and will start in the fall. We are very excited for this summer off together, and plan to make the most of our brief break from homework. In the last 4 years, Anthony has been enrolled in school every semester except the summer he transitioned from Associate’s to Bachelor’s.

I interviewed for a promotion at work this week. I didn’t get it, and I honestly feel relieved.

Last night I had a TERRIBLE dream. When I think about it, I start to cry. I was a person who found lost people. I was supposed to find a guy who was lost in some caves. I thought it would be fun for the girls if they went with me, so we went in and started exploring. We were having a good time. I called the guy’s cell phone, and it started ringing from between a few rocks. It had fallen out of his pocket. He was close enough that he heard the phone, so he came to us and was so glad to be found. He showed us where he had been waiting for a rescue, and then we made our way out of the caves. The entrance of the cave was inside a big Visitor Center. We were jumping from rock to rock on our way out and just having fun. I heard a loud rumbling noise right as we were getting out of the cave. The guy looked very alert and started running to the Visitor Center. Andrea chased after him, and Sarah and I walked out. We came into a big room with a wall of windows, and when I looked out the window I could see the earth collapsing at the horizon, and it was quickly moving toward us. The guy turned and grabbed Andrea (they were too far away for me to get to her in time, and I just felt relieved that she was going to die being held, and not falling alone), and I turned to Sarah and grabbed both her hands and looked her in the eyes and started shouting over the noise, “ILOVEYOU! (Andrea and the guy fell into the abyss) ILOVEYOU!” And then the floor fell out from underneath us.

It is seriously the most upsetting and awful thing I’ve ever experienced. I hope there’s not some weird dream translation that our world is about to collapse or something.

 

2 Responses to “Big Changes”

  1. Mom Says:

    What a great way to start Spring. Good and happy events all over the place. We’re so proud of you and Anthony working as a team to get his schooling done…Congratulations to both of you :D

    I do have to say, though, that your dream was pretty crummy! No wonder you were so upset!

  2. Suzie :) Says:

    That is a crazy dream! You always have such vivid dreams! Congrats on the Anthony getting his degree, what a relief! And LUCKY on your CA vacations. I’ve only been to CA once in my life & never been to Disneyland… can you believe I’m still alive?


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.